Pic o’ the Week: Lizardfish Nabs Surgeonfish

It’s a fish-eat-fish existence in our world’s ocean. Luke Gordon was on a work dive for Manta Project Fiji when he witnessed nature’s savage food chain, suddenly and up close.

“… [while] finishing a safety stop after a 90+ minute research dive, suddenly a flash of colour happens below. I could see what it was and I was NOT going to miss this opportunity. I could see the lizardfish struggling to swallow its prey.

I knew I didn’t have much air but I had to try, a quick bomb back down to 13m and I only managed 3 quick shots, luckily one was framed well with both fish looking at camera! (dive safely everyone and don’t do what I did).”

Manta Project Fiji is an affiliate project of Manta Trust. Check out their excellent and crucial work with manta rays!

Leave a comment