Pic o’ the Week: “like a galaxy crashed with the ocean”

“This is the most amazing discovery in my lifetime! It feels like I’ve discovered a rare treasure,” Andreea Baker exclaimed about seeing these seastars in a mussel shell.

Baker happened upon this wondrous ocean sight while walking along the Oregon coast near Cannon Beach.

We were visiting Indian Beach Oregon on my 37th birthday. We got there a little before the sunset. As we were enjoying a walk on the beach while the tide was getting low, our friend daughter stumbled upon a cluster of shells out farther in the water, and she went to check it out! And for our surprise this shell was packed with what I call: baby starfishes or sea stars! I’ve never seen anything like this in my entire life! So artistic! Almost like a galaxy crashed with the ocean! I captured the most beautiful pictures I’ve ever taken!

~Andreea Baker

These baby seastars are a hopeful sign along the western US Pacific Ocean coast, where seastar wasting syndrome has decimated seastars for the past decade.

This tiny ocean galaxy includes myriad ocean organisms including sea lettuce and baby gooseneck barnacles, noted Tiffany Boothe of the Seaside Aquarium.

Leave a comment